Classical and Jazz Grades


Performance is at the heart of Trinity’s graded music assessments as we believe that musicianship is most effectively demonstrated through practical performance. Our exams are numbered from Initial (in many subjects) to Grade 8. The Initial exam acts as an introduction to the exam system for new performers.

Our exams can be taken in Piano, Singing, Brass, Electronic Keyboard, Organ, Classical and Acoustic Guitar, Drum Kit & Percussion, Strings, Woodwind and Jazz Woodwind and Theory of Music.

Each exam has three components: pieces, technical work and supporting tests, with different requirements depending on the grade.

All Trinity College London examiners are professional musicians, and they take special care to make candidates feel relaxed in the exam room, creating a positive environment for you to demonstrate your talents to your full potential.

Please contact the Trinity China office for exam syllabus details.

Putting performance first

Trinity College London graded exams:

  • Recognise that a flexible approach is best, prioritising candidates’ individual needs
  • Offer freedom of choice within assessments, enabling candidates to demonstrate their musicianship in the way that suits them best
  • Assess real-life skills that translate naturally from real music-making to the assessment
  • Assess skills that are specific to each discipline
  • Allow candidates to express their whole musical personalities through options to demonstrate creativity in different ways
  • Provide precise and specific feedback to inform continued learning.

What we do